Online Sequencer Forums

Full Version: new user, first question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Greetings,

So I found this site and it is really cool. I am not a musician but I do electronics. I am trying to
code "the house of the rising sun"  on an arduino board with the output going to a piezo electric buzzer.

I found that the sequencer has a 8 bit square wave "instrument" which is close to how the buzzer sounds.

Anyways, is their a way to get a 1/3 stanza instead of what is on the drop down. The song is in 3/4  which is 3 beats to a "stanza",
I forgot what the period is called,  and 1/4 of a beat per note.
No way to set the grid, but you can always just ignore the bar lines. I have to do this a lot as I often use less than common time signatures. You always can try a DAW app to program MIDI, and experiment with synths, CakeWalk is free. Good luck and have fun!
Yes, with 3/4th time there are 3 beats in one measure, and yeah, a note that is 1/4th beats in length is a quarter note.
Like Sir Guy said, there is currently no way to change the grid itself. This site isn't the most advanced out there, but it still is good!

With this kind of thing, its about fractions and math. I trust that you, as a programmer, can handle fractions.
In 3/4ths time, only 3 quarter notes will fit into one measure (or "stanza"), rather than the alternative which is 4/4ths time, that fits four quarter notes in a measure.