Online Sequencer Forums

Full Version: Music of Elementia
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
If you've read the thread I posted in the 'Introduce Yourself' forum, you already know that I'm working on a video game project (its working title is Elementia), and I'm at a stage where developing music for it would now be appropriate. At the time, I had absolutely no musical composition experience; now, I've composed my first piece (and since I am new to composing music, feedback would be greatly appreciated). Since there's no descriptions for these and I can't upload music onto DeviantArt (where I usually upload stuff related to my video game project), I thought I'd create a thread where I can post my musical compositions with descriptions. This is my very first piece:

This'll be the first piece you hear when you start the game, as your adventure begins in the capital city of the Jovisian Empire: Auguston. Imagine a steampunk London where the sun never rises, illuminated with nothing but artificial light; this is the sort of atmosphere I wanted to capture with this piece I call City of Enlightened Darkness. I got inspiration for this piece from Professor Layton's London Streets, and steampunk music in general. The only music theory I intentionally applied when creating this was triple metre (I wanted it to sound like a waltz), octaves and repetition; if I did anything else that was musically clever, it was unintentional or I don't know the technical term for what I did.